BlocIn connects people everywhere. What you share on BlocIn may be viewed all around the world instantly.
BlocIn receives your information through our various websites, SMS, APIs, email notifications, applications, buttons, and
widgets (the "Services" or "BlocIn"). For example, you send us information when you use BlocIn from our website, post or receive
Content via SMS, or access BlocIn from another application. When using any of our Services you consent to the collection,
Irrespective of which country you reside in or supply information from, you authorize BlocIn to use your information in the
United States and any other country where BlocIn operates.
Information Collection and Use
We collect and use your information below to provide our Services and to measure and improve them over time.
Information Collected Upon Registration
When you create or reconfigure a BlocIn account, you provide some personal information,
such as your name, username, password, and email address. Some of this information, for example, your name and username, is
listed publicly on our Services, including on your profile page and in search results. Some Services such as
search, public user profiles and viewing lists, do not require registration.
You may provide us with profile information to make public, such as a short biography, your
location, your website, or a picture. You may provide information to customize your account, such as a cell phone number
for the delivery of SMS messages. We may use your contact information to send you information about our Services or to market
to you. You may use your account settings to unsubscribe from notifications from BlocIn. You may also unsubscribe by following
the instructions contained within the notification or the instructions on our website. We may use your contact information
to help others find your BlocIn account, including through third-party services and client applications. If you email us,
we may keep your message, email address and contact information to respond to your request. If you connect your BlocIn
account to your account on another service in order to cross-post between BlocIn and that service, the other service may
send us your registration or profile information on that service and other information that you authorize. This information
enables cross-posting, helps us improve the Services, and is deleted from BlocIn within a few weeks of your disconnecting
from BlocIn your account on the other service.
BlocIn may keep track of how you interact with links across our Services, including our email notifications, third-party services, and client applications, by redirecting clicks or through other means. We do this to help improve our Services, to provide more relevant advertising, and to be able to share aggregate click statistics such as how many times a particular link was clicked on.
Like many websites, we use "cookie" technology to collect additional website usage data and to improve our Services, but we do not require cookies for many parts of our Services such as searching and looking at public user profiles or lists. A cookie is a small data file that is transferred to your computer's hard disk. BlocIn may use both session cookies and persistent cookies to better understand how you interact with our Services, to monitor aggregate usage by our users and web traffic routing on our Services, and to customize and improve our Services. Most Internet browsers automatically accept cookies. You can instruct your browser, by changing its settings, to stop accepting cookies or to prompt you before accepting a cookie from the websites you visit. However, some Services may not function properly if you disable cookies.
Our servers automatically record information ("Log Data") created by your use of the Services. Log Data may include information such as your IP address, browser type, operating system, the referring web page, pages visited, location, your mobile carrier, device and application IDs, search terms, and cookie information. We receive Log Data when you interact with our Services, for example, when you visit our websites, sign into our Services, interact with our email notifications, use your BlocIn account to authenticate to a third-party website or application, or visit a third-party website that includes a BlocIn button or widget. BlocIn uses Log Data to provide our Services and to measure, customize, and improve them. If not already done earlier, for example, as provided below for Widget Data, we will either delete Log Data or remove any common account identifiers, such as your username, full IP address, or email address, after 18 months.
BlocIn uses a variety of third-party services to help provide our Services, such as hosting Content, and to help us understand the use of our Services, such as Google Analytics. These third-party service providers may collect information sent by your browser as part of a web page request, such as cookies or your IP address. Third-party ad partners may share information with us, like a browser cookie ID or cryptographic hash of a common account identifier (such as an email address), to help us measure ad quality and tailor ads. For example, this allows us to display ads about things you may have already shown interest in.
Information Sharing and Disclosure
We do not disclose your private personal information except in the limited circumstances described here.
We may share or disclose your information at your direction, such as when you authorize a third-party web client or application to access your BlocIn account.
Law and Harm
Non-Private or Non-Personal Information
We may share or disclose your non-private, aggregated or otherwise non-personal information, such as your public user profile information, your public Content, the BlocEvents you host or crash, or the number of users who clicked on a particular link.
Modifying Your Personal Information
If you are a registered user of our Services, we provide you with tools and account settings to access or modify the personal information you provided to us and associated with your account.
You can also permanently delete your BlocIn account. If you follow the instructions, your account will be deactivated and then deleted. When your account is deactivated, it is not viewable on BlocIn.com. For up to 30 days after deactivation it is still possible to restore your account if it was accidentally or wrongfully deactivated. After 30 days, we begin the process of deleting your account from our systems, which can take up to a week.
Our Policy Towards Children
Our Services are not directed to persons under 13. If you become aware that your child has provided us with personal information without your consent, please contact us at contact@BlocIn.com. We do not knowingly collect personal information from children under 13. If we become aware that a child under 13 has provided us with personal information, we take steps to remove such information and terminate the child's account. You can find additional resources for parents and teens here.
Changes to this Policy
Effective: November 1, 2014